Swimming Pool Etiquette

Caipirinha Cocktails
Yesterday Antony & I had what we like to call an activity day. On Friday we went to Bodega, a South American restaurant, it reminds us of when we were in South America. We had lots of really tasty food and some great cocktail; I recommend the Caipirinha Brazils national drink and the Mexican Mule.

The Perfect Breakfast
 On Saturday, after feeling smug that I didn’t have a hangover- I don’t drink much usually, we decided to head into town to get some bargains at our favourite food market. We love the atmosphere there seeing all the different fruit & veg & people watching. After a quick refuel of Breakfast- Toasted Panettone with Blueberries & Strawberries… YUM, we headed out to the swimming baths.

Vintage Swimwear
This is when I started to think about swimming bath etiquette, abroad I would never wear anything but a Bikini, as I want to get an all over tan. But swimming indoors that’s not my aim- no one else was wearing a bikini, not that I minded, it just made me think that is this when to go for function over fashion. I remember the days of swimming lessons at primary school, two teachers trying desperately to get all of my extra-long thick curly hair into a small stretchy swimming hat, they wrestled endlessly until they completed their mission and I had subsequently turned red in the face, to my Speedo swimsuits with fancy backs, but always in Navy or Black. 
Auria x Margot Bowman Swimwear SS13
To the rise of the Tankini in the 90’s to the fancy one pieces of the noughties and back to the bikinis we have lots of choice, but as far as I can see these are the rules for Swimming Pool Etiquette;
Bikini= Holiday
Classic Swimsuit= Swimming pool in England
Tankini= Children

Fancy One Piece= Weird tan line or part swimsuit part top, even though they do look great in photos, like above.


So what do you go for? 
Leave a Reply

