The Hippy Dream

I was chatting with my mum the other day about the fun thing I remember from growing up; the house always being full of people and animals, building a tent that took over my whole room- using my mums airing horse, all the pegs and a good proportion of sheets as well, going on holiday to Norfolk managing to fit 5 kids and 2 adults into a tiny 2 bedroom house, getting trapped in one of the bedrooms of that house with 2 of my cousins and shouting HELP HELP HELP for literally hours before either my mum or auntie came and helped us. And it dawned on me I come from a family of Hippies!

https://marketplace.asos.com/boutique/adas-attic

At secondary school I would have classed myself as more of a tomboy than Hippie but looking back I stand corrected. I am always being told I am very laid back and I’ll give anything a go once. I do find it strange going into a house where there is empty shelves and even stranger if the cupboard under the stairs is…. empty! Why waste that valuable space. If you were to walk into my house you would think that a family of 5 lives there, not two =D. To further confirm my suspicions of my Hippie nature, and family, I decided that I wanted to do a Jubilee inspired cover story for my vintage boutique, so I went upstairs and casually pulled out a Union Jack flag dress, al la Geri from The Spice Girls, from 1 wardrobe I then went to another wardrobe ( an insight into just how much stuff is actually in my house) and pulled out a brand new Union Jack flag, with out even having to look for it. No surely this isn’t the case in everyone’s house, if it is in yours please let me know, So I have accepted that I am a Hippie, so I am going to show you some of my favourite Hippie inspired outfits for this season.

A common misconception of Hippie style is maxi dresses, fringing and cowboy boots. Don’t worry this is not the case… Read on…
Woodstock Fashion
Ashley Olsen
Tie Dye Maxi Dress.
Hippie Street Style

Key Features:
Oversized tops and dropped arm holes.
Loose fitting shilouettes.
Denim Shorts, frayed, studded, dark or light denim anything goes
Emblished tops, sequins and studs, even better if you can have both.
Tie Dye- Anything really LOVING tie dye.
Bright colours pinks and blues.
Fringing on the bottom of tops and waistcoats.
Layering thin layers of clothing and layer on the long necklaces and bracelets, friendship bracelets are great.
Leave a Reply

